Please see the answers below to some of the most frequently asked questions about Patient Hub.
The majority of our outpatient clinics are now bookable on Patient Hub, but not all. Those clinics where you can use Patient Hub will send a text or an email inviting you to access Patient Hub using a link. You will be able to use the link for 72 hours. Do not worry if you do not use the link, an appointment letter will be sent to you in the post after 72 hours.Ìý
No, all patients with a registered mobile number and/or email address will automatically have access to this service.Ìý
You will need to securely log inÌýeach time you access Patient Hub and theÌýservice is designed with security in mind. The text message or email regardingÌýyour appointment will be sent to you by theÌýhospital. Once you click on the link, you willÌýbe asked for either your mobile number or email address and your date ofÌýbirth to login.
This will be followed by a 6-digit authentication code which will be text or emailed to you. This forms the secure two factor authentication to enable login.Ìý
The hospital will send you a link by text message or email. You should then follow these steps:
- Click on the link
- You’ll be asked to enter either your mobile number or email address, together with your date of birth.
- You will then be sent a 6-digit authentication code by text, or by email if we don’t have your mobile number.
- Enter the 6-digit code. Please be aware this secure code only lasts for two and a half minutes.
- You should be securely logged into Patient Hub.
- Please note: If the appointment is for your child, please use your mobile number or email address and their date of birth to log in.
- If we have duplicate record on our systems you may be asked to enter a User Verification Code when logging in, please enter this code that is sent to you at the end of the notification.
Patient Hub allows you to view all of your outpatient appointments, letters and messages in one convenient location.ÌýAs well as access to all your appointmentÌýinformation, giving you the ability to confirm, request to rebook or cancel your hospital appointments. It will provide everything you would normallyÌýreceive in the post.Ìý
No, there is no need to download anything.ÌýPatient Hub is a web page that you can access at any time. When the hospital sends you the firstÌýappointment notification, they will send youÌýa link to access Patient Hub.
Yes, the link to your account will stay the same,Ìýso you can go back to any text message orÌýemail. Every time you are notified about anÌýappointment you will get a reminder of the link.Ìý
Yes, you can either accept, request to rebook or cancelÌýyour appointment. If you have accepted an appointment, you can go back in and request to rebookÌýor cancel the appointment at a later date.
Please note if you wish to cancel or rebook within 5 days of your appointment date, you will need to contact us using the phone number on your appointment letter.Ìý
Yes, you can click on a diary button toÌýinsert a reminder into your smart phone orÌýcomputer calendar.
You’ll be able to choose how you are notified ifÌýyou have a preference between text or email.
It is important that you make sure we have yourÌýcorrect contact details.Ìý
The majority of our outpatient clinics are now using Patient Hub, but not all. If you haveÌýa smart phone, tablet or computer, then you can access Patient Hub.
The initial link needs either a smart phone,Ìýtablet or a computer. If you do not have aÌýsmart phone you can receive the link andÌýauthentication code in an email.ÌýYou need access to either email or textÌýmessages to use Patient Hub.
If you don’t have a smart phone or computer,Ìýdon’t worry, you will continue to receive yourÌýappointment details by letter in the post,Ìýtogether with all the other information.Ìý
The link to your Patient Hub can beÌýaccessed at any time. When you log inÌýyou will be sent a secure authentication messageÌýto complete your log in. This secure code onlyÌýlasts for two and a half minutes.
If you do not respond to the notification,Ìýyou will be sent a further two reminderÌýnotifications.
If you do not respond to any ofÌýthe notifications, your appointment letter willÌýbe posted to you.Ìý
You can use this .
The hospital booking centre agents will callÌýyou as soon as they have availability.Ìý
You will receive a call back from the hospitalÌýto confirm your cancellation.
You can access the link to opt out of futureÌýcommunications on Patient Hub or contactÌýyour hospital who can do this for you. OptingÌýout also means you will not receive anyÌýappointment reminders.Ìý
Yes, all letters and other extra information willÌýbe sent via Patient Hub. You can review them as often as you wish.Ìý
Patient Hub has maps to download to yourÌýsmart phone, tablet or computer.
Yes, all appointment letters and informationÌýwill be sent via Patient Hub.
If you have more thanÌýone appointment you will be able to see all of your appointments in Patient Hub. You canÌýmanage (accept, cancel or request to rebook) eachÌýappointment individually.
You can also look back at your previous appointment data, which isÌýsecurely held in your space for 24 months.Ìý
It may be that your outpatient clinic is not yet bookable on Patient Hub.
Please contact our Outpatient Referral and Booking Service, on 0113 5181823 who should be able to help.